Written by Stuart Stevens | Wednesday, 06 December 2006 | There are 0 comments
All the big drug companies have had problems in the past with people registering domain names that seek to mislead the public about the exact products that they are offering. In order to remedy this problem an organisation called WIPO was set up to look at the facts of a domain name complaint and if it was thought that the name was listed in bad faith and was designed to mislead a customer or individual then the domain name could be confiscated and passes over to the correct holder.
The problem mainly occurs with the use of the trio of erectile dysfunction medications Viagra, Cialis and Levitra as so many fake versions of them are purchased on the internet and thus in order to best attract web traffic to the sites people register names such as cialis-medication.com which give the impression that they are official Cialis sites set up by Lilly Icos that owns the drug.
The sites are also misleading because very often the erectile dysfunction drug that is sold on the site is not Cialis but an illegal generic version of it. Many customers are therefore duped by the official sounding cialis-medication.com domain name and they buy what they think is Cialis from the site.
In this most recent case with the cialis-medication.com domain name, the owner of Cialis Lilly ICOS decided to act against Cybernet Marketing owned by Antoine Tardif based in Canada that in turn owns the domain name cialis-medication.com.
Lilly Icos found it pretty simple to establish themselves as the legal and moral owners of the name Cialis as the sell the drug in over 130 countries and have been doing so for a number of years. Antoine Tardif had no response to the complaints put forward by Lilly Icos and so the WIPO board found in favour of the maker of the impotence drug and therefore removed the listing of the name from the Cybernet Marketing and passed it over to Lilly Icos.
Antoine Tardif had no response to the complaints put forward by Lilly Icos and so the WIPO board found in favour of the maker of the impotence drug and therefore removed the registration of the name from the Cybernet Marketing and passed it over to Lilly Icos.
Viagra and Levitra have suffered similar problems with internets domain names being registered using their trademarks but this situation is likely to stop as the rulings always are in favour of the big drug companies and therefore it is seen as a waste of time to continue registering them.
